Skip to content

Do Indian Bloggers Make Money by Blogging?

October 12, 2008

Marshall Kirkpatrick recently wrote a post on Read Write Web (RWW) on how much do top tier bloggers and social media consultants get paid. Bloggers could make about $40K per year by blogging full time, and this is not advertising revenue. Salaries of full time bloggers averaged about $45-55K going up to $90K per year with bonuses. As per the post, “the closer to pure journalism our respondents were doing the lower their wages were.”

I wonder what bloggers in India make. I recently got a call from Times of India. It seems they are going to start some portal for senior industry professionals, with membership by invite only!!! Based on my LinkedIn profile and what I have been writing on my other professional blog, the lady from TOI wanted to know if I could write for this new portal. Sure I said. What will TOI pay for my writing? I felt she was a little taken aback by my question. How could I even ask for such a thing like money? Then she said if I wanted to ‘monetize’ my blog on their portal, I would need to write three-four posts a day and be active on their forums by asking and answering questions. I told her she should hire a journalist if she wanted someone to spend that kind of time in creating content for their portal. Surely I will get paid for any article I write that gets published in TOI so why should writing for their blog be different? And surely if they want content on their site, they should pay for it, especially when they want to launch the new portal. Surely they must have allocated some money in their business plan to get the content on their site before the community takes over.

I know many of the bloggers in my reading list boast of very respectable readership. Nita displays 1,293,279 hits, Rambodoc shows 368,031 readers, Chirag has 24,975 readers, Reema’s blog has had 25,093 hits, Suda has 19,745 visitors, Mahak has 36,100 aliens landed on her blog, Nikhil’s blog had 43,365 hits, The Quirky Indian’s blog has had 18,073 hits, Smita Jain’s blog stats show 12,288 hits. Then there are many others whose blogs didn’t have stats data but have very respectable Technorati rankings. For example, Poonam’s blog has Technorati ranking authority of 106 (thanks Nita for pointing this out). Of course there is the India Uncut blog by Amit Varma which has 3832 RSS feed readers, so you can imagine the high number of hits his blog gets. Ajay Jain is one of the few professional bloggers I am aware of.

I wonder if Indian bloggers make any significant money to make a living of full time blogging. Would you seek payment for writing for TOI type portal?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Quirky Indian permalink
    October 12, 2008 4:20 pm

    I think you did the right thing by asking for money……considering the TOI sells everything it can (and then some), it’s a shame it doesn’t want to pay for content.

    Btw: thanks for the phone tips; mine’s a ‘jailbroken’ one too.

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    http://quirkyindian.wordpress.com

  2. October 12, 2008 5:01 pm

    This was deja vu for me. This same lady contacted me and we had a similar conversation! She even insisted on getting my phone number and we talked. When I asked for payment she was stumped! I explained to her gently that what she was asking for was the moon! I told her I get paid a pretty decent amount per article when I freelance and I would expect the same from her! She went on a spiel about how can I think like this, they were new etc etc. I was amazed at her lack of professionalism…begging someone to write for free or she said the same thing, if I want money then it’s 3-4 post a day blah blah…! In any case then she didn’t need a blogger, but an employee! If they are new and they have no money I wonder why they can’t hire someone just “new” too, perhaps someone straight out of college who would be willing to do it for free!
    I get regular requests to write for free and it’s getting irritating now!I even get requests from commercial enterprises asking for my photos – for free!!
    I make no money from my blog and I am happy with that, but I am writing for myself! Why can’t these so-called professionals understand that I wonder. Why should I write for free for a times of india website?

  3. October 12, 2008 5:02 pm

    Delete my first comment as there is an error in it.

  4. October 12, 2008 10:47 pm

    Of course what u did was correct. If we are taking the time out to do something for a big newspaper like TOI, we ought to be paid. But I would reject the offer due to some other reasons too like sometimes I m too lazy to write even my blog 😀 and I dont want any pressure on me to write!! I write when I want to and as I want to. It will remain so always I hope 🙂

    P.S. Added u to my blog roll and subscribed to your blog’s feed.

  5. lifeofhues permalink*
    October 12, 2008 10:52 pm

    @Nita – deleted your first comment. Also thanks for pointing out Poonam’s Technorati ranking. I should really have written authority and not ranking. Corrected it in the post.

    @Reema – Thanks for adding me to your blog roll and reading my blog. You are right, sometimes the pressure builds up to write a new post on the blog even when there is nothing to write :-).

  6. October 13, 2008 1:34 pm

    I feel you were right in demanding worth for you creative work! TOI itself is starting on this venture and gonna get benefits.
    What’s the harm in getting paid for your own creativity?But writing for personal blog is a way to let your thoughts out- its your personal choice..but if someone else wants to use it and that too an established house – might as well pay for it.

  7. October 20, 2008 12:10 pm

    Hi.
    If I tried to blog any more than I do, I would starve. More likely, my wife would murder me before things reach such a state!
    I don’t think there is any money in blogging unless you are in the league of a major celeb.

  8. lifeofhues permalink*
    October 20, 2008 12:33 pm

    Hey Rambodoc
    So I figure…
    However, if you ever were to write a book, I would buy a copy.

Leave a Reply

