Skip to content

I am no Gandhi

February 11, 2009

Two recent posts caught my attention. Poonam wrote a post about her frustrations with the system and says urges readers to take action. Then Quirky Indian wrote about his experience with being caught for honking when he was actually not honking. I left a comment on Quirky Indian’s post that I share with you here.

“What is required is that we all become Gandhi and fight for justice irrespective of the cost. Unfortunately it doesn’t seem to be a practical solution. Hey, the cops had a no-honking week. They had targets to meet to book x people and collect the fine. You were the poor unlucky sod who got caught. You could have left your license there and fought it out in the court. Since you didn’t want to bribe and didn’t want to spend the time to go to court (or were not sure whether the case would go in your favor) you chose to pay the fine. Does it hurt? You bet it does.

My standing car got hit by a truck from behind once. And I had to shell out all the money to take my totally damaged car from the police station (even though the accident was because of no fault of mine), and spend time and money to visit the court to find the truck driver had not come. I did that for a while and then gave up, told the judge I am taking the case back. Wasn’t worth pursuing it.

Does all this suck? You bet. Is life fair? Absolutely not. So we all struggle and try and do our own bit, whether by blogging or by joining the ongoing pink chaddi campaign.

I share Poonam’s frustration. What we need is to turn into a Gandhi and unfortunately we don’t have the strength. It is hard man. So I accept my limited capabilities and inability to become a Gandhi, and move on.”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2009 12:34 pm

    I undestand what you mean. Its not taht I dont understand. See, I too wrote a similar experience:

    http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/robbed-on-a-busy-street/

    But everyone is tking advantage of us because they know we are too busy to fight them. 😦 I think alone we will fail, but perhaps we can make a difference together?

  2. lifeofhues permalink*
    February 11, 2009 12:57 pm

    I will join all Facebook groups, I will sign all petitions, I may even attend a meet to discuss this. However at the end of the day, if I am robbed or stopped at a traffic signal and faced with a similar situation, I am not sure if I will do anything different. In my heart I too long for a Gandhi to lead the way. I try to imbibe his ways in small steps. But I will be honest to say that I am not that strong. It takes a lot of courage to spend the time and energy to pursue a court case for a traffic violation, it takes a lot of time and money to pursue issues, RTI applications etc. Perhaps creating forums like the ones you are suggesting will be a first step. I am sure there are many that already exist. There has to be a lot of education of the masses. But how do we educate to be courageous and determined to spend the time and energy to pursue what we believe to be right?

    As I write this, I realize that I am as confused and frustrated you and many others based on the responses on your post. So yes, I would like things to change. So we keep trying and doing out bit… by writing, by joining FB groups, by candlelight vigils, by giving it a try to follow the system and not getting hassled, by… … …

    I guess the key is to stay at it…

  3. February 11, 2009 7:36 pm

    I can understand your agony. I have read Poonam’s incident too.

  4. lifeofhues permalink*
    February 12, 2009 10:30 am

    Thanks for understanding Vikas. I guess we should continue to do our bit, including trying to get together to do something about it. Our best bet perhaps would be education and hopefully in about two/three generations when people holding the positions will come from a future generation which is educated and oriented towards making a difference, things will change.

  5. Quirky Indian permalink
    February 12, 2009 12:24 pm

    @Lifeofhues: We all know, I suppose, that the ‘system’ is so geared against the ordinary individual that one often has no choice but to give in. As Poonam did. As you did. As I did.

    You and Poonam are absolutely right, we need to do something about it – but it has to be collectively. Strangely enough, I attended a meeting – fixed much before the cop incident – where these things were discussed, and we are trying to work out practical ways to bring about change. Let’s see how that goes.

    Quirky Indian

  6. Quirky Indian permalink
    February 12, 2009 12:26 pm

    Sorry, huesoflife. Mistake happened!

  7. lifeofhues permalink*
    February 12, 2009 5:09 pm

    @Quirky — I look forward to reading more about it.

    Don’t worry about the mistake. I am confused too, about huesoflife and lifeofhues. It’s all because of blog names and login names being taken… 🙂

Leave a Reply

