Skip to content

Learning to be a Writer

April 18, 2010

Last year I had a chance to listen to Jeffrey Archer. It was a great experience to listen to his experiences.

It is hard being a writer. He suggested that anyone considering being a writer be prepared to slog it out. You’ll never get it right the first time. You need to review and rewrite and refine what you’ve written.

Jeffrey explained his differences in writing short stories and a novel. In a novel, he rarely knows how it will turn out to be. His characters drive the novel along. When he is writing a short story, he almost always knows the last line of the story. Then he builds the rest of the story around the last line. I have found this quite true in my attempts at writing. Last few episodes of Shades of Grey have actually turned out to be short stories where I knew the last line and built the rest of the story around it. While writing the first few episodes I had no idea where the story was headed when I started to write. And of course, now when I read these again, I can see there is still much work to be done on them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 3:22 pm

    Best Wishes.
    Each step is a learning experience As we are all learning always.

  2. April 21, 2010 3:50 pm

    all the best..i m sure u will be a great writer

  3. April 21, 2010 6:02 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement Reema 🙂

  4. May 8, 2010 10:19 am

    In my search for bloggers who share my passion for fiction writing, I landed on your wonderful blog.
    Thank you for sharing those tips and your personal insight into story writing.
    I’d love to read through your stories so far 🙂

    Best wishes for a successful career in writing 😀

    Cheers!!

  5. May 9, 2010 8:45 am

    Thanks Chatterbox. Links to the stories are in the post above. Look forward to your comments on them too.

Leave a Reply

